Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

The Motives and Mystery of Ethics-Understanding the Why


Total Credits: 2 including 2 Behavioral Ethics - Non-technical

Average Rating:
Not yet rated
Categories:
ACPEN Industry Institute |  Ethics
Faculty:
Bob Mims, CPA
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
2 Hours
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

Our guidance on ethics comes from the AICPA and other groups, but it does not fully address the “why” behind ethics. This session will examine and define what ethics is and what it means to varying people in the workplace. Understanding what motivates people and understanding those people are key to both solving ethical dilemmas and workplace issues that can lead to greater job satisfaction and efficiency. To correct an issue, you need to delve into the root cause – the why?

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Gaining a broader understanding of human behavior and ethics beyond the regulations. If we can better understand why unethical actions occur, we can develop a greater practice of our own ethical leadership and assist in growing one’s ‘ethical intelligence.’

Major Subjects
  • Understanding yourself and others in the workplace
  • How emotion plays a vital role in ethical dilemmas and in solutions
  • What are some of the various outlooks on ethics?
  • Recognizing lies
  • Managing ethics towards solutions

Course Materials

Faculty

Bob Mims, CPA's Profile

Bob Mims, CPA Related Seminars and Products


Bob Mims, CPA, is an entrepreneur and accounting/management executive based in Memphis, TN. He has served as a financial consultant across various industries in the role of planning, modeling and CFO capacities.  Bob has had the privilege of serving as chair on an AICPA committee and on two FASB advisory committees.  During his ten years with the accounting firm KPMG, he was selected national instructor of the year on three occasions. 
Bob graduated from the University of Mississippi, and enjoys outdoor sports with his wife, 5 children, 2 service dogs, and a 20-pound cat named ‘Squirt’.
 


Dates

Mon, Apr 01, 2024 - 02:30pm to 04:30pm EDT
Wed, Apr 10, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Tue, Apr 23, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Fri, May 10, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Tue, May 28, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Mon, Jun 03, 2024 - 02:30pm to 04:30pm EDT
Mon, Jun 10, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Tue, Jun 25, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Wed, Jul 10, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Tue, Jul 23, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Mon, Aug 05, 2024 - 02:30pm to 04:30pm EDT
Sat, Aug 10, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Tue, Aug 27, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Tue, Sep 10, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Tue, Sep 24, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Mon, Oct 07, 2024 - 02:30pm to 04:30pm EDT
Thu, Oct 10, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Tue, Oct 22, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Mon, Nov 11, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EST
Tue, Nov 26, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EST
Mon, Dec 02, 2024 - 02:30pm to 04:30pm EST
Tue, Dec 10, 2024 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EST
Tue, Dec 24, 2024 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EST
Fri, Jan 10, 2025 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EST
Tue, Jan 28, 2025 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EST
Mon, Feb 03, 2025 - 02:30pm to 04:30pm EST
Mon, Feb 10, 2025 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EST
Tue, Feb 25, 2025 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EST
Mon, Mar 10, 2025 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Tue, Mar 25, 2025 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Mon, Apr 07, 2025 - 02:30pm to 04:30pm EDT
Thu, Apr 10, 2025 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Tue, Apr 22, 2025 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Sat, May 10, 2025 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Tue, May 27, 2025 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT
Mon, Jun 02, 2025 - 02:30pm to 04:30pm EDT
Tue, Jun 10, 2025 - 10:00am to 12:00pm EDT
Tue, Jun 24, 2025 - 12:00pm to 02:00pm EDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites

At least six (6) months of professional financial statement analysis experience


Advanced Preparation None
Designed For Anyone wanting to gain a better understanding of yourself or others in the workplace
Original Recording Date 03/30/2024
Course Developer The Knowledge Institute
Date Added to Catalog 02/06/2024
Yellow Book No

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Promo Video

Reviews