Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

Introduction to Governmental Accounting


Total Credits: 2 including 2 Accounting (Governmental) - Technical

Average Rating:
   32
Categories:
ACPEN Industry Institute |  Accounting and Auditing
Faculty:
Melisa F. Galasso
Course Levels:
Basic
Duration:
2 Hours
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Tags: Accounting


Description

Governmental accounting is very unique. This course will introduce the financial reporting basics for governments, including fund accounting and the modified accrual basis of accounting. Attendees will analyze the layouts of the fund financial statements as well as the government-wide financial statements. The course will also cover the concept of component units, Management Discussion & Analysis (MD&A), and the Annual Comprehensive Financial Report.

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Describe the unique accounting principles and transactions applicable to governmental entities

Major Subjects
  • Fund Accounting
  • MD&A
  • ACFR

 


Course Materials

Faculty

Melisa F. Galasso's Profile

Melisa F. Galasso Related Seminars and Products

Founder and CEO

Galasso Learning Solutions LLC


Melisa Galasso is the founder and CEO of Galasso Learning Solutions LLC. A CPA with nearly 20 years of experience in the accounting profession, Melisa designs and facilitates courses in advanced technical acconting and auditing topics, including not-for-profit and governmental accounting. She also supports essential professional development, audit level training, and train the trainer efforts. Melisa is a Certified Professional in Talent Development (CPTD) and has earned the Association for Talent Development Master Trainer™ designation. Her passion for instructional design and adult learning techniques is one of the differentiators that set her apart from other CPE providers. Within the industry, Melisa serves on the FASB’s Not-for-Profit Advisory Committee (NAC), AICPA Council, and the VSCPA’s Board of Directors. She previously served on the AICPA’s Technical Issues Committee (TIC) and is a past-Chair of the NCACPA’s A&A committee. Melisa also authors the AICPA’s State and Local Government Guide and serves as a SME for the Center for Plain English Accounting.

 


Dates

Mon, Feb 26, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:53pm EST
Thu, Mar 14, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:53pm EDT
Tue, Mar 26, 2024 - 04:00pm to 05:53pm EDT
Mon, Apr 15, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:53am EDT
Fri, Apr 26, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:53pm EDT
Mon, May 06, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:53pm EDT
Wed, May 08, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:53pm EDT
Tue, Jun 04, 2024 - 04:00pm to 05:53pm EDT
Sat, Jun 15, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:53am EDT
Wed, Jun 26, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:53pm EDT
Tue, Jul 09, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:53pm EDT
Wed, Jul 24, 2024 - 04:00pm to 05:53pm EDT
Fri, Aug 09, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:53am EDT
Mon, Aug 19, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:53pm EDT
Thu, Sep 05, 2024 - 07:00pm to 08:53pm EDT
Fri, Sep 20, 2024 - 04:00pm to 05:53pm EDT
Fri, Oct 11, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:53am EDT
Sat, Oct 26, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:53pm EDT
Sat, Nov 02, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:53pm EDT
Mon, Nov 18, 2024 - 04:00pm to 05:53pm EST
Wed, Dec 11, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:53am EST
Fri, Dec 20, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:53pm EST
Mon, Dec 30, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:53pm EST
Thu, Jan 02, 2025 - 04:00pm to 05:53pm EST
Fri, Jan 17, 2025 - 10:00am to 11:53am EST
Tue, Feb 11, 2025 - 07:00pm to 08:53pm EST
Sat, Feb 22, 2025 - 02:00pm to 03:53pm EST
Wed, Mar 05, 2025 - 04:00pm to 05:53pm EST
Thu, Mar 20, 2025 - 10:00am to 11:53am EDT
Wed, Apr 02, 2025 - 12:00pm to 01:53pm EDT
Thu, Apr 17, 2025 - 07:00pm to 08:53pm EDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Advanced Preparation

None


Designed For

Practitioners new to governmental accounting


Original Recording Date

02/10/2022

 


Yellow Book

Yes


Course Developer

Galasso Learning Solutions


Date Added to Catalog

02/10/2022


Prerequisites

None

 

 


Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.8

Total Reviews: 32

Comments

Norman K - WARREN, Michigan

"Really informative!!"

Stephen C

"Thank you"