Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

The Ethics Hour: Deceit and the Whys Behind the Lies: Understanding Ethics


Total Credits: 1 including 1 Behavioral Ethics - Non-technical

Average Rating:
   32
Categories:
Ethics |  ACPEN Industry Institute
Faculty:
Bob Mims, CPA |  Don Minges, MBA
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
1 Hour
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Tags: Ethics Hour


Description

Our guidance on ethics comes from the AICPA and other groups, but it does not fully address the “why” behind ethics. Understanding what motivates people and understanding those people are key to both solving ethical dilemmas and workplace issues that can lead to greater job satisfaction and efficiency. To correct an issue, you need to delve into the root cause – the why?

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Gaining a broader understanding of human behavior and ethics beyond the regulations. If we can better understand why unethical actions occur, we can develop a greater practice of our own ethical leadership and assist in growing one’s ‘ethical intelligence.

Major Subjects
  • Understanding yourself and others in the workplace
  • How emotion plays a vital role in ethical dilemmas and in solutions
  • What are some of the various outlooks on ethics?
  • Recognizing lies
  • Managing ethics towards solutions

Course Materials

Faculty

Bob Mims, CPA's Profile

Bob Mims, CPA Related Seminars and Products


Bob Mims, CPA, is an entrepreneur and accounting/management executive based in Memphis, TN. He has served as a financial consultant across various industries in the role of planning, modeling and CFO capacities.  Bob has had the privilege of serving as chair on an AICPA committee and on two FASB advisory committees.  During his ten years with the accounting firm KPMG, he was selected national instructor of the year on three occasions. 
Bob graduated from the University of Mississippi, and enjoys outdoor sports with his wife, 5 children, 2 service dogs, and a 20-pound cat named ‘Squirt’.
 


Don Minges, MBA's Profile

Don Minges, MBA Related Seminars and Products


Don Minges, MBA, is a fractional CFO who works in diverse industries at various development stages.  His expertise is in profitability enhancement, strategic planning, venture capital, mergers & acquisitions, consulting, turnarounds, economic forecasting, cost accounting and financial analysis.  Don has experience raising equity for several growing firms and has invested equity capital into promising businesses.  He has served on the Board of Directors for many firms.  He graduated with highest honors from the Fuqua School of Business at Duke.


Dates

Fri, Feb 23, 2024 - 04:00pm to 04:57pm EST
Tue, Mar 12, 2024 - 10:00am to 10:57am EDT
Wed, Mar 27, 2024 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EDT
Mon, Apr 01, 2024 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EDT
Fri, Apr 19, 2024 - 04:00pm to 04:57pm EDT
Sat, Apr 27, 2024 - 10:00am to 10:57am EDT
Fri, May 03, 2024 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EDT
Wed, May 22, 2024 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EDT
Tue, Jun 11, 2024 - 07:00pm to 07:57pm EDT
Wed, Jun 19, 2024 - 10:00am to 10:57am EDT
Thu, Jun 27, 2024 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EDT
Mon, Jul 15, 2024 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EDT
Wed, Jul 31, 2024 - 04:00pm to 04:57pm EDT
Thu, Aug 01, 2024 - 07:00pm to 07:57pm EDT
Sat, Aug 10, 2024 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EDT
Wed, Aug 21, 2024 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EDT
Wed, Sep 11, 2024 - 04:00pm to 04:57pm EDT
Fri, Sep 20, 2024 - 10:00am to 10:57am EDT
Thu, Oct 10, 2024 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EDT
Tue, Oct 29, 2024 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EDT
Tue, Nov 05, 2024 - 04:00pm to 04:57pm EST
Thu, Nov 14, 2024 - 07:00pm to 07:57pm EST
Sat, Nov 23, 2024 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EST
Mon, Dec 09, 2024 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EST
Wed, Dec 18, 2024 - 04:00pm to 04:57pm EST
Mon, Dec 23, 2024 - 10:00am to 10:57am EST
Tue, Jan 07, 2025 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EST
Thu, Jan 23, 2025 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EST
Wed, Feb 05, 2025 - 04:00pm to 04:57pm EST
Sat, Feb 15, 2025 - 10:00am to 10:57am EST
Tue, Feb 25, 2025 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EST
Mon, Mar 03, 2025 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EST
Thu, Mar 27, 2025 - 07:00pm to 07:57pm EDT
Fri, Apr 11, 2025 - 10:00am to 10:57am EDT
Tue, Apr 22, 2025 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EDT
Wed, May 07, 2025 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EDT
Sat, May 17, 2025 - 04:00pm to 04:57pm EDT
Fri, May 30, 2025 - 10:00am to 10:57am EDT
Sat, Jun 07, 2025 - 12:00pm to 12:57pm EDT
Wed, Jun 18, 2025 - 02:00pm to 02:57pm EDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites At least six (6) months of professional financial statement analysis experience.
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For Professionals who want to better understand ethical issues.
Original Recording Date 12/01/2022
Yellow Book No
Course Developer The Knowledge Institute, LLC
Date Added to Catalog 11/09/2022

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.6

Total Reviews: 32

Comments

Emmanuel O

"It was a wonderful program."

Audrey P

" "

Catherine S - Grand Rapids, Michigan

"Very engaging approach to ethics study. I took a lot of notes!"