Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

Common Yellow Book & Single Audit Deficiencies - 2023


Total Credits: 4 including 4 Auditing (Governmental) - Technical

Average Rating:
   25
Categories:
Accounting and Auditing |  ACPEN Industry Institute
Faculty:
Melisa F. Galasso
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
4 Hours
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

Yellow Book and Single Audit engagements are considered must-select engagements for peer review. This course will review the common deficiencies noted by peer reviewers and federal agencies. We'll focus on the requirements of Yellow Book independence, CPE, and reporting. We will also review deficiencies related to internal controls over compliance, compliance testing, and major program determination for Single Audits. We'll close the course with a look at the deficiencies often identified in COVID-related funds.

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Identify common deficiencies in Yellow Book Engagements
  • Recall the independence requirements in Yellow Book
  • Identify common single audit deficiencies
  • Recall common deficiencies found related to COVID-19 funding

Major Subjects
  • ICOC
  • Compliance Testing
  • Major Program Determination

Course Materials

Faculty

Melisa F. Galasso's Profile

Melisa F. Galasso Related Seminars and Products

Founder and CEO

Galasso Learning Solutions LLC


Melisa Galasso is the founder and CEO of Galasso Learning Solutions LLC. A CPA with nearly 20 years of experience in the accounting profession, Melisa designs and facilitates courses in advanced technical acconting and auditing topics, including not-for-profit and governmental accounting. She also supports essential professional development, audit level training, and train the trainer efforts. Melisa is a Certified Professional in Talent Development (CPTD) and has earned the Association for Talent Development Master Trainer™ designation. Her passion for instructional design and adult learning techniques is one of the differentiators that set her apart from other CPE providers. Within the industry, Melisa serves on the FASB’s Not-for-Profit Advisory Committee (NAC), AICPA Council, and the VSCPA’s Board of Directors. She previously served on the AICPA’s Technical Issues Committee (TIC) and is a past-Chair of the NCACPA’s A&A committee. Melisa also authors the AICPA’s State and Local Government Guide and serves as a SME for the Center for Plain English Accounting.

 


Dates

Fri, Feb 23, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:40pm EST
Wed, Mar 13, 2024 - 12:00pm to 03:40pm EDT
Sat, Mar 16, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:40pm EDT
Tue, Mar 19, 2024 - 01:00pm to 04:40pm EDT
Fri, Mar 29, 2024 - 03:00pm to 06:40pm EDT
Wed, Apr 10, 2024 - 12:00pm to 03:40pm EDT
Fri, Apr 26, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:40pm EDT
Sat, Apr 27, 2024 - 12:00pm to 03:40pm EDT
Tue, Apr 30, 2024 - 01:00pm to 04:40pm EDT
Mon, May 06, 2024 - 10:00am to 01:40pm EDT
Wed, May 08, 2024 - 12:00pm to 03:40pm EDT
Tue, Jun 04, 2024 - 02:00pm to 05:40pm EDT
Sat, Jun 15, 2024 - 04:00pm to 07:40pm EDT
Wed, Jun 26, 2024 - 10:00am to 01:40pm EDT
Tue, Jul 09, 2024 - 07:00pm to 10:40pm EDT
Wed, Jul 24, 2024 - 02:00pm to 05:40pm EDT
Fri, Aug 09, 2024 - 04:00pm to 07:40pm EDT
Mon, Aug 19, 2024 - 10:00am to 01:40pm EDT
Thu, Sep 05, 2024 - 07:00pm to 10:40pm EDT
Fri, Sep 20, 2024 - 02:00pm to 05:40pm EDT
Fri, Oct 11, 2024 - 04:00pm to 07:40pm EDT
Sat, Oct 26, 2024 - 10:00am to 01:40pm EDT
Sat, Nov 02, 2024 - 12:00pm to 03:40pm EDT
Mon, Nov 18, 2024 - 02:00pm to 05:40pm EST
Wed, Dec 11, 2024 - 04:00pm to 07:40pm EST
Fri, Dec 20, 2024 - 10:00am to 01:40pm EST
Mon, Dec 30, 2024 - 12:00pm to 03:40pm EST
Thu, Jan 02, 2025 - 07:00pm to 10:40pm EST
Fri, Jan 17, 2025 - 04:00pm to 07:40pm EST
Tue, Feb 11, 2025 - 10:00am to 01:40pm EST
Sat, Feb 22, 2025 - 12:00pm to 03:40pm EST
Wed, Mar 05, 2025 - 02:00pm to 05:40pm EST
Thu, Mar 20, 2025 - 04:00pm to 07:40pm EDT
Wed, Apr 02, 2025 - 10:00am to 01:40pm EDT
Thu, Apr 17, 2025 - 12:00pm to 03:40pm EDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites

Prior experience with governmental accounting


Advanced Preparation

None


Designed For

Ideal for accountants in public practice who serve governmental and nonprofit entities


Original Recording Date

5/1/23


Yellow Book

No


Course Developer

Galasso Learning Solutions


Date Added to Catalog

5/3/23


Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.8

Total Reviews: 25

Comments

Diane C

"Great speaker, kept me engaged in the content"

Garald P - Burley, Idaho

"Best governmental class instructor I have had. She explained it extremely well! I will be looking for more classes from her!!!"